Death, Life, And Worry

Thought Catalog


A friend told me recently that whenever she would agonize about anything, her grandmother would counsel that, “In one hundred years, this won’t even matter.” The idea being that in one hundred years, she’ll be dead. And perhaps even if she were to be alive, she’d be too old to care about the experience that is currently causing her to worry. And while humanity can find just about anything to disagree on, the one profound reality that we can all agree on, that we all eventually have to face, is death. There is no escaping it: You and I are going to die one day.

As a child, I was terrified of death and consequently my young Catholic self, would negotiate with God constantly. My parents also go to mass daily and upon receiving My First Communion, especially during school term breaks, I would go to confession every time I…

View original post 547 more words

Leave a Reply

